Adding Members to Teams - Tempo Cloud

Our Cloud Help Center has a new home at https://help.tempo.io/cloud/

We will no longer be updating Cloud documentation in this space, so please be sure to check the new site for the latest documentation and learning content.

Adding team members requires the Tempo Team Administrator permission or the Manage Team permission for the team in question.

When you add members to a team, you can assign their Role and time Commitment for each team in which they are members, as well as the dates on which they join or leave the team.

  1. Select Teams  in the Tempo sidebar.
  2. In the Teams view, select the team to which you want to add members.
  3. The team's overview is displayed. Click the Add Member link, at the bottom.
  4. Start typing the name of the user you want to add to the team, and select from the matching results. Complete the Add Member dialog box:
    1. Role - Select the Role that the user will fulfill in the team. By default, member is selected. Jira administrators can add new roles to this list.
    2. Commitment - The percentage of the user's time to allocate to this team. The default is 100%.
    3. Joining - Optional. Select the date the user will be joining this team.
    4. Leaving - Optional. Select the date the user will be leaving this team.
  5. Click Save to add the new team member.

Tip

You can edit the role, availability, and dates of team membership by clicking the team member in the People section on the team's overview. 

Note

  • You can have users with multiple start/end dates and/or roles in the same team. The team's overview will always show the current member status, so that if a team member is added to the same team for different dates, only the team member's current member status is shown in the list of team members.
  • If a user is a member of multiple teams and has more than one role, only the role from the last team they joined will be visible in reports when you Group by Role or Team.

Bulk Adding Members to a Team

You can add Jira groups to a team. The group members are added individually and you can edit their role, commitment, or joining and leaving dates afterwards.

  1. In the Teams view, select the team to which you want to add a Jira group.
  2. In the team overview, click Bulk Add Members at the bottom. Here you can also add Active directory groups.
  3. Start typing the name of the user group you want to add to the team, and select it from the matching results.
  4. When you have selected all the groups you want to add to the team, click Next.
  5. The dialog box will show how many users will be added to the team. Click Confirm to add these members to the team.
  6. You can click each member and assign them a role, define their time commitment to the team, and when they will be joining and leaving the team. 

Removing Members from a Team

If a team member is no longer working on the team's projects, you may want to remove them from the team.

  1. In the Teams view, select the team from which you want to remove members.
  2. Rest the mouse pointer on the team member you want to remove.
  3. Click the x to remove the team member from the team.


Related Topics