When a Tempo user is deactivated or deleted from your Jira instance, it has an effect on what data is displayed for them in Tempo Timesheets. You can still see the worklog data of inactive or deleted Jira users in timesheets or reports using the information outlined here.
In a nutshell
When a user is deactivated in Jira, we recommend that you leave the user in their Tempo team(s) so that their worklog data is displayed in the timesheet and reports. Then set an appropriate Leaving date for this user in their team(s). This way, the user is considered as an inactive member of this team, but their worklogs still appear in the team timesheet and reports, but only for the time period in which they were active members in the team.
Tempo does not remove or delete the worklogs from inactive or deleted Jira users: you must actively delete the worklogs in Tempo or Jira if you want to get rid of them.
Viewing worklog data from inactive users in timesheets and reports
To see the worklog data from inactive users, open their timesheet, the team timesheet, or a report, and navigate to the time period when this inactive user was still a member of the Tempo team (before their Leaving date).
A workaround to see their data is to reactivate the user temporarily, add them back to their original team(s), and then deactivate them again after the timesheets and reports are completed.
Viewing worklogs from deleted Jira users
When a user account is deleted in Jira and/or deleted from their Tempo team, they won’t show up in any user pickers so you won’t be able to filter their worklogs by their name in reports or timesheets. This means that you won’t be able to see their worklogs except by using the Tempo API (assuming you have the appropriate View Team Worklogs permissions) for Tempo Timesheets.
We recommend that you export the user's worklogs before deleting them from your Jira instance.
Timesheet approvals for inactive Jira users
You cannot currently change or submit timesheets for approval for inactive Jira users. This is because the Approve Timesheets team permission cannot apply to users who are not active in the team. There are two things you can do in this situation:
- Submit and approve this user’s timesheet before deactivating them in Jira.
- Reactivate this user temporarily to submit their timesheet for approval.
Best practices for inactive Jira users and Tempo Teams
When a user is deactivated in Jira, it’s best to leave the user in their Tempo team(s) and then set an appropriate Leaving date for them in their Tempo team(s).
- If the user is on temporary leave and will come back to the same job within the same Tempo team, you may not need to set their Leaving date from the team.
- If the user is on paid leave, they should log time against a "paid leave" Internal Jira issue (Vacation, Parental leave, etc.) before leaving. Their team lead can then submit and approve their future timesheets (they require the Approve Timesheets permission for that team). The team lead then has the information that this team member is out of office for the logged period and that their hours are approved.
- If the user is taking unpaid leave, setting a Leaving date from the Tempo team is useful. Then when this user returns, you can add them to the team with their new Joining date.
For example, if Amy is leaving for January, February, and March, you should set a Leaving date from her Tempo team to be December 31st. Then add her as a new member to this team with a Joining date of April 1st. Amy will not show up in the Team Timesheet for the period that she is inactive in the Team, but her worklogs for the periods that she was active in the team are still available.
Another option is to leave the user as active in the Tempo team and have the team lead submit and approve the user’s timesheets for the time period that they are away (with 0h logged and adding a comment that this user is on unpaid leave).
Tempo permissions and inactive Jira users
The following permissions let you view the worklog data of inactive or deleted Jira users, depending on the circumstances.
- In Tempo team timesheets:
If you have the View All Worklogs permission for a Jira project, you can see only the worklogs of users who were active members in that team at the time the worklog was created. The worklogs are displayed in the Team timesheet regardless of the users’ Jira status: active, inactive, or deleted.
- In Tempo reports:
If you have the View All Worklogs permission for a Jira project, you can see all worklogs created for that project by all users whose worklogs fall within the report’s scope defined by the time period and filters. The worklogs are displayed in the report regardless of the users’ Jira status: active, inactive, or deleted.
For example, let’s say Lars was a member of Team Blue from January 1 to April 30 and worked on the Jira project called Partner Portal. Then he changed jobs and stopped using Jira and Tempo Timesheets on May 1, so his Jira status was changed to inactive on that date. Regardless of his inactive Jira status, his worklogs for the Partner Portal project would later be visible in the Team Blue timesheet and reports where the time period displayed included any dates between January 1 and April 30.
- To view worklogs in a Jira project, you must have the Browse Project permission for that project.
- When setting Tempo permissions for Jira projects, it can take a while for the permission to take effect because of how Tempo is syncing with Jira.
- In Tempo team timesheets:
If you have the View Team Worklogs permission for a Tempo team, you can see all worklogs created by all members of that team (active, inactive, or deleted Jira users) if those worklogs fall within the time period defined AND the members’ Joining/Leaving dates for that team. If a worklog is created outside of the Joining/Leaving dates for that team member, it is not shown in the Team timesheet.
- In Tempo reports:
If you have the View Team Worklogs permission for a Tempo team, you can see all worklogs created by all members of that team (active, inactive, or deleted Jira users) if those worklogs fall within the report’s scope defined by the time period and filters AND the members’ Joining/Leaving dates for that team. If a worklog is created outside of the Joining/Leaving dates for that team member, it is not shown in the report.