Adding Members to and Removing Members from Tempo Teams - Tempo Server

Adding team members requires the Tempo Team Administrator permission or the Manage Team permission for the relevant team.

When you add members to a team, you can assign a role to each member, as well as the dates on which they join or leave the team.

To add or remove a member from a team:

  1. Select Teams  in the Tempo sidebar.
  2. In the Teams view, click the name of the team to which you want to add members.
  3. The team's overview is displayed. Click the Add Member link, at the bottom.
  4. Start typing the name of the user you want to add to the team, and select from the matching results. Complete the Add Member dialog box:

    1. Role - Select the Role that the user will fulfill in the team. By default, member is selected. Jira administrators can add new roles to this list. 
    2. Joining - Optional. The date the user will be joining this team.
    3. Leaving - Optional. The date the user will be leaving this team. 
  5. Click Save to add the new team member.

Tip

  • When a user is deactivated in Jira, it’s best to leave the user in their Tempo team(s) and then set an appropriate Leaving date for them. See Inactive and Deleted Jira Users and Tempo Timesheets for more information.

  • You can add the same member to the team more than once but for different dates. Only the team member's current membership is displayed in the list of team members. For example, if a member currently has role A in the team ending on date X, and you add the same member with role B and different availability for a future date, the view will only show the member's current role and availability.

  • You can edit the role, availability, and dates of team membership by clicking the team member's icon in the People section on the team's page. 

Adding Jira Groups to a Team

You can add Jira groups to a team. The groups will be added as a single entity so you cannot define each member's role, commitment, or joining and leaving dates. 

  1. In the Teams view, select the team to which you want to add the Jira group.
  2. In the team overview, click Add Jira Groups at the bottom. Here you can also add Active directory groups.
  3. Start typing the name of the user group you want to add to the team, and select it from the matching results.
  4. When you have selected all the groups you want to add to the team, click Next.
  5. The dialog box will show how many users will be added to the team. Click Confirm to add these members to the team.

Removing Members from a Team

If a team member is no longer working on the team's projects, you may want to remove them from the team.

  1. In the Teams view, select the team from which you want to remove members.
  2. Rest the mouse pointer on the team member you want to remove.
  3. Click the x to remove the team member from the team.

Tip

  • Removing users from a team will not affect their worklogs or planned time.
  • It can be helpful to set a Leaving date instead of removing a member from a team. This way, the team member's worklogs and plans will be visible to the Team Lead for periods that the member was active in this team. 


Related Topics