Linking Accounts to Jira Projects - Tempo Server

Linking accounts to Jira projects requires the Tempo Account Administrator permission.

Tempo accounts can be linked to one or many Jira projects. By linking accounts to projects and with the Account Custom field set for your needs, the account becomes a select option, either in Jira issues or the Log Time dialog box.

Linking on Create

When creating accounts, you can select the projects you want to link to the account. The projects can also be included in the imported file if the accounts are created with any of the Accounts Import features.

Linking in Accounts Configuration

It is possible to link already created accounts to more projects in the accounts overview. 

  1. Select Accounts  in the Tempo sidebar.
  2. In the Accounts view, select the account you want to link Jira projects to.
  3. Click + Add Project Link at the right and search for the project to which you want to link account. You can also select the Make this account global check-box if you want to link the account to all projects. Clearing the check-box will unlink a global account from all projects.

Keep the number of global accounts to a minimum because global accounts have a negative impact on Tempo Timesheets speed performance.

Linking in Project Administration

Users with the Tempo Account Administrators permission and who are in the Administration Role for the selected project can open the Accounts page in project settings. On the Project settings page you have the option to select an account as default for the project.

Note

  • Jira issues created before linking their project to an account do not automatically become set to the account value. The value needs to be set afterwards and it is possible to bulk edit the Jira issues.
  • If you have only one account linked to a project, whether or not it is set to default, all issues created will automatically be linked to this only account.
  • If you have more than one account linked to a project and one of these accounts is set to default, all issues created will automatically be linked to the default account.
  • If you have more than one account linked to a project and none is set to default, all issues created will NOT be linked to any account.