Granting Users Team Permissions - Tempo Timesheets for Server

Adding members to team permission roles requires the Manage Team permission for the relevant team.

Team permissions define how teams view and work with worklogs, timesheets, and plans. Permissions are applied to a permission role within each team. You can create permission roles and add users or Jira groups to them.

Note that the permissions listed under Plans are only available when Tempo Planner is installed.

To add members to a permissions role:

  1. Select Teams  in the Tempo sidebar.
  2. In the Teams view, select the team for which you want to grant permissions.
  3. On the team's page, click Permissions in the upper right corner (or More - Permissions for smaller screen settings).
    (For Tempo Timesheets versions prior to 10.16, click the settings icon  at the top-right, and then click Permissions.)
  4. Select the permission role to which you want to add members, and then click + Add users. If you need to create a new permission role, click + Add permission role and then add the desired users to it. For more information about how to create permission roles, see Creating Team Permission Roles - Tempo Timesheets for Server.



  5. Search for the user or the Jira group you want to add to the role.
  6. Click the check mark to save your changes.

View Team Worklogs Permission

The View Team Worklogs permission gives the permission to view all worklogs for all team members of the selected team. 

With this permission, you can see the worklogs of Jira users, regardless of their status: active, inactive, or deleted - see Inactive and Deleted Jira Users and Tempo Timesheets for more information.

To grant members the View Team Worklogs permission:

  1. Select the check-box for View team worklogs in the relevant permission role.
  2. Click Save. All users in the selected permission role will be granted the permission.

Manage Team Worklogs Permission

Users with the Manage Team Worklogs permission can create, edit, and delete worklogs for members of the selected team. Users with this permission can make changes to worklogs in user timesheets after the scheduler has closed the timesheet period. 

To grant members the Manage Team Worklogs permission:

  1. Select the check-box for Manage team worklogs in the relevant permission role.
  2. Click Save. All users in the selected permission role will be granted the permission.

Note that a user with Manage team worklogs might have the same permissions to members in the current team as well as any other teams that the same members actively belong to, and regardless if the user has different team worklog permissions in other teams. The worklog permission checks are validated between users as opposed to teams.

For example a team lead who is granted Manage team worklogs permission to team-A where John Doe is a member of can still edit worklogs for John Doe in Team-B where the team lead only has View team worklogs permission for.

Approve Timesheets Permission

Users with the Approve Timesheets permission can:

  • Review timesheets of team members.
  • Grant grace periods to team members to complete their timesheets after a scheduled closing date.
  • View the team timesheet and reports.
  • View Tempo team and account gadgets.
  • Approve accounts.

If the the timesheet approval is set to monthly or weekly, the users with this permission can:

  • Approve and reject timesheets of team members.
  • View the approval logs of team members.

To grant members the Approve Timesheets permission:

  1. Select the check-box for Approve timesheets in the relevant permission role.
  2. Click Save. All users in the selected permission role will be granted the permission.

Manage Team Permission

Granting team members the Manage Team permission requires the Tempo Team Administrator permission.

Users with the Manage Team permission can:

  • Edit all team attributes.
  • Add team members to the team.
  • Delete the team.
  • Access the team permissions page.
  • Create, edit, and delete permissions groups.
  • Edit all permissions.
  • Configure view settings.
  • Make changes to worklogs in user timesheets after the scheduler has closed the timesheet period.

To grant members the Manage Team permission:

  1. Select the check-box for Manage team in the relevant permission role.
  2. Click the check mark to save. All users in the selected permission role will be granted the permission.


Related Topics

On this page