Team Permissions - Tempo Cloud

Our Cloud Help Center has a new home at https://help.tempo.io/cloud/

We will no longer be updating Cloud documentation in this space, so please be sure to check the new site for the latest documentation and learning content.

You need to have Tempo Team Administrator or Manage Team permissions to grant Tempo Team permissions and create permission roles. By default, team leads have the Manage Team permission for their own team.

Tempo Team permissions are used to define how teams view and work with worklogs, timesheets, and plans. These permissions are applied to Permissions Roles within each team, available on each team's Permissions page. The Team Lead and Member permission roles are created by default.

You can create permission roles for whatever purpose you need, such as giving other managers or administrators the ability to approve timesheets or plans, or giving a senior team member the same permissions as the team lead to have a backup. It's also easy to add people to - or remove people from - an existing permission role.

Watch this video to see how to set up team permissions:

To grant Team permissions:

  1. Make sure you have Tempo Team Administrator permissions, or have Manage Team permissions for the respective team (Team Leads have this permission by default for their own team).
  2. Select Teams  in the Tempo sidebar.

  3. From the Teams view, select the team for which you want to grant permissions.

  4. The team's Overview is displayed: click Permissions in the upper-right. If you don't see this option, click More.

  5. For existing permission roles (such as Member), select the permissions you want to grant to the users in this role, and click Save. You can also add users to, or remove users from, this permission role.
  6. To create a permission role, click +Add permission role, select the permissions for the role, and add the desired users to it - see Creating Team Permission Roles.

Team Permissions

Permission/RoleDescriptionWho should have this permission?Notes
Tempo Team Administrator
  • Permission to create, configure, and delete teams, manage team and user permissions, and browse teams. 
  • Permission to create, configure, and delete programs (groups of teams) and iterations for programs, and to plan time for teams and team members.

Managers, administrators, HR

This is a Tempo global permission - see Global Permissions for more information.
Team Lead role
  • Browse Team permission (see below) for the team that you lead.
  • Approve Timesheet permission (see below) for the team that you lead.
  • Plan Time permission (see below) for the team that you lead.
  • Permission to configure your team.
  • Team Member role.

Department or team managers, project team leads

Tempo Team administrators can assign a Team Lead when they create a team, or edit the Team Lead role later on.

The Team Lead role is not sufficient for moving employees between workload or holiday schemes or for changing the Team Lead.

View Worklogs

Permission to view all worklogs for the team members of the respective teams.

This will give them access to the Timesheet in My Work for the respective team members.

Team leads, managers, administrators, HR

This permission is available only when Tempo Timesheets is installed.

Manage Worklogs

Permission to create, edit, and delete worklogs for the members of the respective teams and/or users

Users with this permission can make changes to worklogs in user timesheets after the scheduler has closed the timesheet period. 

Team leads, managers, administrators, HR

This permission is available only when Tempo Timesheets is installed.


Approve Timesheets

Permission to:

  • Review and approve or reject timesheets for the members of the respective teams.
  • Grant grace periods to team members to complete their timesheets after a scheduled closing date.
  • View the team timesheet and reports.
  • View Tempo team and account gadgets.
Team leads, managers, administrators, HR
  • This permission is available only when Tempo Timesheets is installed.
  • Users cannot approve their own timesheets, even if they are members on their own team.
  • When you select the Approve Timesheets permission, the View Worklogs permission is also automatically selected so you can view the timesheets you're approving!
View Plans

Permission to view all plans for members of the respective team. 


  • Tempo Planner users, such as other team members
  • Team leads, managers, administrators, HR
This permission is available only when Tempo Planner is installed.
Manage Plans

Permission to create, edit, and delete plans for the members of the respective team.

Team leads, resource or departments managersThis permission is available only when Tempo Planner is installed.
Approve Plans

Permission to review and approve or reject plans for respective teams and/or its members.


Team leads, resource or departments managers

This permission is available only when Tempo Planner is installed.

If Enable Plan Approval is off in Tempo Settings, the Approve Plans permission is not available.

When you select the Approve Plans permission, the View Plans permission is also automatically selected so you can view the plans you're approving!

Manage Team

Permission to add members to the respective team, delete the team, edit all team settings, grant team permissions, and create, edit, and delete permission roles for the respective team. 

Team leads, team administrators, HRUsers with this permission can make changes to worklogs in user timesheets after the scheduler has closed the timesheet period.
View TeamPermission to view a team and its members, but not their worklogs or plans. All Tempo users who have access to this team.This permission is always granted to all permission roles for the respective team.